Log in

Black In Neuro

celebrating Black excellence in neuroscience-related fields


#NeuroRacism
Wednesday, 28 July 2021
Join us as we spend the day celebrating the innovative research being conducted by members of the Black In Neuro community.

Register Here!

Journal Club


Time: 10-11 am PT | 1-2 pm ET | 6-7 pm BST

Platform: Zoom (webinar)

In this journal club, we will dissect "Racial and ethnic imbalance in neuroscience reference lists and intersections with gender," a pre-print that delves into racial and gender imbalances in neuroscience citations, alongside early-career researchers and one of the article's co-authors.

Paper: “Racial and ethnic imbalance in neuroscience reference lists and intersections with gender” 

Click Here

Panelists:

Damien Fair, PhD (University of Minnesota)

Thiago Arzua (Medical College of Wisconsin)

Ife Adedipe (Université de Montréal)

Emmanuella Bassey (The University of Texas)

Runtime: 1 hr


Inclusive Neurotechnology Panel
      

Time: 12-1:30 pm PT | 3-4:30 pm ET | 8-9:30 pm BST

Platform: Zoom (webinar)

Tune into our panel to discuss approaches to developing more socially just and inclusive neurotechnologies, including EEG, fNRIS, and other light-based medical technology.

Panelists:

Achuta Kadambi, PhD (UCLA)

Arnelle Etienne (Carnegie Mellon University & Precision Neuroscopics)

Jasmine Kwasa, PhD (Carnegie Mellon University)

Runtime: 1 hr 30 minutes

EEG Researchers and Black Hairstylists Q&A
     

Pre-recorded - Launch Time: 2:00 PM PT | 5:00 PM ET | 10:00 PM BST

Platform: Streamed across platforms

Listen to our pre-recorded Q&A which will feature a collaboration between EEG researchers and Black hair stylists who are working to make EEG more inclusive.

Panelists:

Arnelle Etienne (Carnegie Mellon University & Precision Neuroscopics)

Evangeline Mensah-Agyekum (Carnegie Mellon University)

Lietsel Richardson (University of Central Florida)

Nina Woodley (University of Central Florida)

Runtime: 30 minutes

Social Media Participation: #NeuroRacism Debriefed


Time: 2:30 PM PT / 5:30 PM ET / 10:30 PM BST

Platform: Twitter Spaces

Join us on Twitter Spaces for an informal discussion where you will have the space to debrief and express your thoughts about the day's events. Participate in the discussion on social media using the hashtag #NeuroRacism and by submitting questions during these live events. We will also be hosting an informal Twitter Spaces session at the end of the day - here, you will have the space to debrief and express your thoughts about the day's events.

Panelists:

BIN Member running session

BIN Twitter community



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software