Log in

Black In Neuro

celebrating Black excellence in neuroscience-related fields


#BlackInNeuroCareers 
Friday, 30 July 2021

This day will show the breadth of careers open to those within neuroscience related fields and beyond academia ranging from therapeutics, neuroengineering and systems neuroscience in industry and science communication and policy. We will use the hashtags #HireBlackInNeuro and #BlackInNeuroCareerJourney & encourage people to share their journeys through neuroscience.

Register Here!

#BlackInNeuroCareers - Where Neuroscience Can Take You




Time:
 9-10:30 am PT | 12-1:30 pm ET | 5-6:30 pm BST

Platform: Zoom

In this panel, we'll highlight Black & Brown Neuroscientists who have had success in careers outside of academia, namely industry and science communication. They'll offer insight on their unique trajectories and provide representation and encouragement for our members and attendees.

Panelists:

Dr. Esther Odekunle (GlaxoSmithKline)
Dr. Kunal Ghosh (Inscopix)
Dr. Sonnet Davis (Denali)
Abe Ceesay
De-Shaine Murray

Runtime: 1Hr 30 min


We want you - NeuroRecruitment Spotlight


Time: 11:00-1:00 PM PT | 2:00-4:00 PM ET | 7:00-9:00 PM BST

Platform: Zoom

Hear from one of our industry partners, Cerevel Therapeutics, about their company and what it takes to work there. This session will provide insight into the daily life for employees, and speak to how they're fulfilling earlier pledges to recruit, develop and retain Black talent.

Runtime: 2Hr


Social Media Participation: #RecruitBlackInNeuro, #BlackInNeuroCareers

Looking to make a career move soon? We want to make sure prospective employers can find YOU! Share a tweet describing what you hope to do, use the hashtag #RecruitBlackInNeuro, AND…
  • If you're going to be on the faculty job market soon, also include the hashtag #BlackInNeuroFaculty.
  • If you're looking for a postdoc soon, also include the hashtag #BlackInNeuroPostdocs.
  • If you’re an aspiring grad student and looking to connect with mentors or administrators for advice on the application process, also include the hashtag #BlackInNeuroGradStudents.
  • Finally, if you’re looking for industry, science policy, or other positions outside academia, use the hashtag #BlackInNeuroAltCareers.

Here’s an example:

Hi I’m Brielle! I’m a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University studying attention impairments in absence epilepsy. One day, I hope to run a lab investigating the origin of cognitive dysfunction across disease states using genetic rodent models of psychiatric, developmental, and neurological disorders. #RecruitBlackInNeuro #BlackNeuroFaculty



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software