Log in

Black In Neuro

celebrating Black excellence in neuroscience-related fields


#BlackInNeuroMentors
Thursday, 29 July 2021
Mentorship and outreach are vital components towards building up and maintaining the next generation of scientists. We'll highlight STEM initiatives and host a round-table discussion on how to engage in mentorship and outreach in Black communities.

Register Here!

Lifting as We Climb: Setting the Stage Effective Mentor-Mentee Relationships



Time: 9-10 am PT | 12-1 pm ET | 5-6 pm BST

Platform: Zoom

In this workshop we will discuss the benefits of mentoring relationships and analyze case studies to examine two foundational areas to building strong mentoring relationships: communication and aligning expectations.

Panelists:

Johnna Frierson, PhD (Duke University)
Paige Cooper, PhD (Duke University)

Runtime: 1 Hr


Cultivating the future of STEM: Community Outreach, Team Building, and Career Training



Time:
11:30 AM -12:30 PM PT | 2:30 - 3:30 PM ET | 7:30 - 8:30 PM BST

Platform: Zoom

In this panel, we’ll highlight the importance of programs targeted towards diversifying the STEM pipeline at multiple career levels. Topics will include how to develop a program, the impact such programs have on trainees, students, and the community, and what problems remain to be solved.

Panelists:

Celete Kato
Dr. Devon Collins
Brittany Young

Runtime: 1Hr


Mentorship Spotlight: Building an Equitable and Efficient Lab



Time: 1PM-2 PT | 4-5PM ET | 9-10 PM BST

Platform: Zoom

This roundtable discussion will feature a dream team in neuroscience, where they will address mentorship and lab dynamics. Join the Williams lab in discussing work styles, efficiency, and proper mentor/mentee communication at various levels.

Panelist:

Dionna Williams, PhD (Johns Hopkins)
Cory White, PhD (Johns Hopkins)
Andrew Gausepohl (Johns Hopkins)

Runtime: 1 hr

This round table discussion will feature a dream team in neuroscience, where they will address mentorship and lab dynamics. Join the Williams lab in discussing work styles, efficiency, and proper mentor/mentee communication at various levels.


Social Media Participation: #BlackJourneyToNeuro


Share your own #BlackJourneyToNeuro on social media and join us for a Twitter chat!



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software